A sense of fun

Summertime always brings it’s fun and it’s intriguing moments. For most it brings a sense of freedom to play without an adult telling the rules like school. Summer is where you get to see the different styles of play. We tend to visit the park quite often and it’s an interesting contrast when it comes to my kid and everyone else there. I admit I do wait for the day where I see my daughters sense of play progress. It’s easy to fall into the trap of comparing which I agree it’s not good to do. When I see her play at the park along the side of kids her age group I do see the difference. Everyone is running around and playing together meanwhile she’s very content to pushing around a stroller with her toy in it or spinning around on some device for hours. Yes there’s a secret wish in me that magically she starts to play like them but I know better than to compare and want that. The fact is my daughter is very happy playing the way she does and that’s good enough for me. Some kids may snicker at her when they see her but it doesn’t seem to faze.

Leave a Reply

