The world has a lot to learn still

It’s the beginning of summer which usually coincides with difficulty at the park in various ways. Not mention looking at us like we’re from a different planet. Yes socially she Has quite the difficulty dealing different situations. A meltdown may occur from time to time. As someone who tries to spread awareness and understanding of autism it does frustrate me to no end to see a parent pull their kids like there’s something wrong with just happened. These people I no doubt think of it as a disease of sort and worry there kiss might get it. Well would be nice for them to open their kids and say it’s OK to play with that kid. I admit I do bite my tongue when I see this because it hurts to see this ignorance. Now last week I watched 2 kids make fun of my daughter from a far and when she came closer and they persisted I kindly took them aside and asked them what they had a problem with and explained that is inexcusable just because someone is different. Rest of the time this kid wanted to be her friend. Kids are easier to talk to about this. The parents are too set in their ways. We maybe a 21st century but we do have a lot to learn about accepting differences. My girl may not seem like a typical child like everyone else’s child but that’s no reason shun her off like someone who’s contagious. Autism is not a disease but something people live with. Some of the smartest people in history have disabilities. To quote Lisa Genova’s book love Anthony “in some ways we are all on the spectrum”. 

5 thoughts on “The world has a lot to learn still

  1. With enough educating people won’t think twice of anyone stimming or getting upset because its too bright outside or too many people around.

  2. My sister and her daughter visited us for the weekend; my sister makes fun of my daughter and her lil quirks (lining up her cars, yelling out school bus or police car, when they pass by our house, etc.) My niece and daughter were playing and my niece tells me that my daughter talks funny, that she doesn’t talk normal, that she sounds like a baby. My daughter is 4 with autism with hyperkinesis and delayed development, and also has a sensory processing disorder. My sister just whispers to her daughter to just be quiet.

    At times in the store, when my daughter has a meltdown, I feel like I’m an alien or something, as people stare. Finally I have to say out loud that there’s nothing to see here, I’m handling my autistic daughter just fine, so please stop staring.

    • Ya jen that pretty much describes well both our lives. I’ve heard the baby talk comment before also. Really disheartening. I only wish to have her resilient attitude where she moves on. Today there was a group of kids playing in the sand and didn’t even bother to go near.

      • You’ve heard my mini me talk, I think she does rather well. I told her that I can understand her completely, though I was told that’s because I’m her mom.

        I think they should teach about special needs kids in school, that it isn’t a disease you can catch and that they are very smart kids.

  3. Ya she does quite well with speaking. I’ve had the same said to me. It’s partly true because we’ve been able to understand the different ways things are said. I know my girl when speaks to someone else there’s very little understanding of what is said. Usually filling the role of translator I am.

Leave a Reply

